‘National-Means-cum-Merit Scholarship (NMMSE)
‘National-Means-cum-Merit Scholarship (NMMSE)

‘National-Means-cum-Merit Scholarship (NMMSE)

About NMMSE Examination

The Central Sector Scheme ‘National-Means-cum-Merit Scholarship ‘ was launched by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, India, in May 2008, with the objective of preventing meritorious students from economically weaker sections from the possibility of dropping out of school in class VIII(A report found that most of the poor students in India leave their school in class 8 or 9), and encouraging them to pursue higher education by providing scholarships.

Under this scheme, selected students of class IX are awarded a scholarship of Rs 12000/- per year and their continuity/renewal is ensured from class X to XII to study in schools of state government, government-aided, and local bodies. There is a separate quota of scholarships for each State/UT.
After evaluation by EFC, with the approval of the Hon’ble HRD Minister and Hon’ble Finance Minister, the scholarship amount has been increased from 6000/- to 12000/- per annum with effect from 1st April 2017.

The objective of this scheme

  • Motivating Students For Higher Education
  • To reduce incomplete school dropout rates among students
  • To identify poor meritorious students and to increase their enthusiasm for studies through scholarships

Full overview of the NMMSE Scholarship Examination

Exam LevelStage-I: State level
Stage II: National level
FrequencyOnce in a year
Mode of ApplicationOnline /Offline
EligibilityThe student should be pursuing Class VIII
Exam ModeOffline-Pen and paper-based
Exam DurationMAT – 90 MCQs of 90 Minutes
SAT – 90 MCQs of 90 Minutes
LanguageStage-I: English or any regional language as opted by the candidate.
Official Websitehttps://scholarships.gov.in/

Imporetant Dates (*WE ARE NOT SURE ABOUT THE DATES, Please check the dates from the official website of NMMSE Of your respective state)

StateLast Date to apply (Tentative)Application Mode
NMMS Assam27 Nov 2022Online
NMMS JK Form20 Oct 2022Offline (Through schools)
NMMS Odisha Form01 Oct 2022 to 22 Oct 2022Online
NMMS Bihar06 Nov 2022Online
NMMS Gujarat Form5th Nov 2022Online (Through schools)
NMMS AP Form31 Oct 2022Online (Through schools)
NMMS Punjab23 Sep 2022Online (Through schools)
NMMS Karnataka25 Oct 2022Offline
NMMS MaharashtraApril 2023Online
NMMS West Bengal23 Sep 2022Online
NMMS TelanganaAs per BSE TelanganaOnline (Through schools)
NMMS Himachal PradeshFebruary 2022(As per HP SCERT)(released soon)Online
NMMS Jharkhand FormFebruary 2022 (released soon)Online
NMMS Haryana Form04 Oct 2022Online
NMMS Goa Form (As per SCERT Goa)(released soon)Through schools (Offline)
NMMS Chhattisgarh Form13 Sep 2022Through schools
NMMS Uttarakhand Form17 Sep 2022Through schools (Offline)
NMMS Uttarpradesh Form(released soon)

Chart for Important Dates of NMMSE 2023 WILL BE RELEASED SOON

NTSE Eligibility Criteria

  • The candidates who wish to apply for this MMSE scholarship must be regular students studying in class 9 after getting clear promotion from class 8 with a score of at least 55% or equivalent grades.
  • The candidates must be pursuing education from Government/Local Body/Government-aided schools.
  • For continuation of scholarship in higher secondary school, the candidate must score at least 60% marks in the class 10 board exam.
  • For continuing the scholarship in class 12, the scholarship awardee must get clear promotion from class 11 in the first attempt itself with a score of 55% marks or equivalent. For students belonging to SC/ST category, a relaxation of 5% is given in marks.
  • The candidates’ annual family income should not be more than INR 1.5 Lakh.
  • Also, those students who are enrolled in NVS, KVS, Sainik schools, and private schools are not eligible for this MMSE scholarship.

Prize And Other benefits

  • The students of class 9 receive a scholarship amount in one go, i.e. INR 12,000 per annum, for an academic year.
  • The scholarship is renewed every year till the student completes his/her Higher Secondary level of education (Class 12), provided the candidate gets clear promotion into a higher class every year.

Required Documents

All the required documents for applying will be informed by the applicant respective school

How to apply

The school authorities are given the responsibility by the State Government to implement this scheme so that you can contact your teacher or the Headmaster to implement this scheme.

However, we have provided the state-wise official website link of NMMSE Scholarship, below for your convenience. You can click on the link to know all about this scholarship.

Name of StateCheck NMMS Merit List 2022
NMMS West BengalClick Here
Kerala NMMS Click Here
Andhra Pradesh NMMS Click Here
Karnataka NMMSClick Here
Bihar NMMS Click Here
NMMS PuducherryClick Here
NMMS TelanganaClick Here
NMMS TripuraClick Here
NMMS GujaratClick Here
Goa NMMS Click Here
Mizoram NMMSClick Here
NMMS NagalandClick Here
NMMS OdishaClick Here
NMMS PunjabClick Here
NMMS Jammu & KashmirClick Here
Uttar Pradesh NMMSClick Here
NMMS Tamil NaduClick Here

Also, for your convenience, we will provide you with NMMS scholarship information in your own state list on our state wise scholarship portal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *